Review: Hemlock Grove

A friend of mine recommended the series Hemlock Grove. Since I tend to like to binge-watch series while I’m writing or painting, and I was running out of content, I decided to give it a shot. I had already seen some of the trailers for it on Netflix, and I had decided to not watch the show because it looked too horror/creepy.

I wasn’t really wrong in that assumption–there’s a lot of squick in the show. However, I’d say it’s a pretty even blending between urban fantasy and horror. While some of the acting, particularly in the first season, is not the best, the characters grabbed me anyways.

There’s rather a lot more guts and maggots than I like to watch, and the show manages to make the sex particularly unsexy. Well–put more specifically, sometimes the sex is with a character that I don’t like or that I know is doing bad creepy things so the sex comes across as creepy instead of hot. But, that seems to be intentional.

The series was good for me to watch. I sometimes have difficulty writing villains, and this show is definitely imaginative fodder for villains! I also found heroism in places where I didn’t expect it.

If you’re looking for some good modern fantasy and you don’t mind a little (a lot) of gore, this show is definitely worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

